Hinduism And Buddhism

Religion, what is religion? Religion is a way of life, a life style, it should
dictate how you live your life. However why follow a religious belief, to go to
heaven, avoid the condemnation to hell, to live forever? We in western society
consider ourselves a not so religious society, we say “I am Christian”
or “I am Jew” or “I am an Atheist I don’t believe”. Keep in
mind religion is a life style, it should dictate how you live your life. Sadly
in western society, money and our compulsive cravings for material objects
dictate our life. We are far from the highly evolved forms of religions of
Hinduism and Buddhism over in the east. What are these religions? Buddhism is
offshoot/reform of Hinduism. They are looked at in the same way as Judaism and
Christianity are looked at (very far apart). Through this essay, I will prove –
by using some of their differences as similarities – that they are very much –
if not essentially the same – alike. “As an off shoot of Hinduism, Buddhism
accepted the notions of karma, dharma, samsara, and moksha. It differed in its
understanding ot these terms and how to achieve spiritual liberation. As
Buddhism spread through south and east Asia, these differences became
greater.” Samsara, the “upholstered hell” , it is known in
Hinduism as the endless cycle of death and rebirth, and Moksha being the supreme
enlightenment, the realization of Atman the one’s true self, and the liberation
from samsara. Despite the fact that Moksha means Something different in
Buddhism, words are meaningless but their meanings aren’t. Explanation:
“The ultimate goal of the Buddhist path is release from the round of
phenomenal existence with its inherent suffering. To achieve this goal is to
attain nirvana an enlightened state in which the fires of greed, hatred, and
ignorance have been quenched.” This is the essence of both religions,
freedom from the ignorance of what I call “Blam”. The central core
of Buddhist teachings is the Four Noble Truths, which are: 1. All life is
suffering and pain. This is more than a mere recognition of the presence of
suffering in existence. It is a statement that, in its very nature, human
existence is essentially painful from the moment of birth to the moment of
death. Even death brings no relief. 1. Desire is the root of suffering.

“People become attached to relationships or things they have, and suffer
when they experience their impermanence. This impermanence leads to
disappointment, which in turn leads to new cravings.” My interpretation of
this Noble Truth is that we suffer not because we desire but because we desire
the wrong things. Meaning that what we should desire is enlightenment. 2.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

“Suffering and desire can be extinguished with enlightenment. The noble
truth of cessation of suffering is this: It is the complete cessation of that
very thirst , giving it up, renouncing it, emancipating oneself from it
detaching oneself from it. 3. The way to enlightenment is to follow the Noble
Eightfold Path. The Noble Truth of the path leading to the cessation of
suffering is this: it is simply the Noble Eightfold path, namely right view;
right thought; right speech; right action; right livelihood; right effort; right
mindfulness; right concentration.” These concepts are nothing pertaining to
Buddhism alone, maybe they haven’t listed and categorized as four noble truths
but all the idea’s are encompassed in Hinduism’s philosophy. “Buddhism
analyzes human existence as made up of five aggregates or “bundles” (skandhas):
the material body, feelings, perceptions, predispositions or karmic tendencies,
and consciousness. A person is only a temporary combination of these aggregates,
which are subject to continual change. No one remains the same for any two
consecutive moments. Buddhists deny that the aggregates individually or in
combination may be considered a permanent, independently existing self or soul
(atman). Indeed, they regard it as a mistake to conceive of any lasting unity
behind the elements that constitute an individual. The Buddha held that belief
in such a self results in egoism, craving, and hence in suffering. Thus he
taught the doctrine of anatman, or the denial of a permanent soul. He felt that
all existence is characterized by the three marks of anatman (no soul), anitya
(impermanence), and dukkha (suffering). The doctrine of anatman made it
necessary for the Buddha to reinterpret the Indian idea of repeated rebirth in
the cycle of phenomenal existence known as samsara.” “Atman: the one’s
true self, “the individual self, held by upanisic and Vedatin thought to be
identical to Brahman, the


I'm Morris!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out